Nextiva NEXT - Administrator Settings - People & AI

Article 000003925 · Updated Mar 26, 2026 · 1,819 views

Users

The Users page allows you to add, import, edit, and remove users in your account.

To access user management:

  1. Navigate to Administration.

  2. Select Users.

From the Users page, you can:

  • Add individual users

  • Import users in bulk

  • Edit existing users

  • Remove users from the account

  • Export the users list as a CSV file

Add A User

Use this option to create a single user manually.

  1. From the Users page, select Add user.

  2. On the Profile step, enter the user’s information.
    Required fields include first name, last name, and email address.
    Other fields, such as role, phone number, extension, and timezone, can be updated later.

  3. Select Next.

  4. On the Channel access step, select which communication channels the user can access, then select Next.

  5. On the Assign shared inboxes step, assign:

    • Shared inboxes the user will participate in

    • Shared inboxes the user will supervise, if applicable

  6. Select Finish.

After completing setup, the user receives an email invitation prompting them to activate their account and set a password. The user’s email address is used as their username.

 

Import Users

Use this option to bulk upload users into NEXT.

  1. Select the blue Import users button in the upper right corner of the Users screen.

     

  1. A new window will appear. Follow the steps to upload a list of users.

     

     

    • If you are uploading a CSV file, it is highly recommended that you select Download template to download the template and fill it out first, as there is a specific format you will need to follow for the data to upload properly. Once the template is done, select the blue Import button.

       

       

      • With the template, you will need to be careful to fill in the values precisely. Fill in the following details for each user imported. The template will have the rows listed under the Field name on Excel chart column below. The Valid input and Example value columns here will help indicate what you should enter.

     

Field name on Excel chart

Required

Valid input

Example value

Notes

First Name

Yes

String, 50 characters or less

John

 

Last Name

Yes

String, 50 characters or less

Smith

 

Email

Yes

Email address format

John.Smith@acme.com

 

Role

Yes

One of:

  • Agent

  • Supervisor

  • Administrator

Agent

 

Phone Number

No

E.164 format

+17473000741

Phone numbers must already be assigned to the tenant prior to performing the import

Phone Type

No

One of:

  • WebRTC (Default)

  • Sip

Sip

 

Timezone

No

One of:

  • Pacific/Honolulu

  • America/Anchorage

  • America/Los_Angeles

  • America/Phoenix

  • America/Denver

  • America/Chicago

  • America/New_York

  • America/Sao_Paulo

  • Europe/London

  • Europe/Berlin

  • Asia/Dubai

  • Asia/Kolkata

  • Asia/Tokyo

  • Australia/Sydney

  • Pacific/Auckland

America/Los_Angeles

America/Phoenix will be used if not specified

Notify User

No

“True” or “true” for yes

“False” or “false” for no

true

 

Extension

No

3-4 digit integer

1234

Some extensions are not allowed, such as 911

Inboxes

No

Single value or if using multiple values, comma separated inside quotes

General inbox

 

Skills

No

Single value or if using multiple values, comma separated inside quotes

“English,Spanish”

 

     

  1. Click Import

  2. Load your CSV file

    • A preview window will ask you to verify the upload. Select Next.

       

       

    • Choose how to handle duplicates, then select Next.

       
    • Your file will try to upload. If it does not work, the file will come back and ask you to correct any errors before you upload the corrected template.

    • You can also connect your Microsoft Entra Connect account to upload users into NEXT. Select the blue Connect button to start. This will redirect you to the Directory sync area of the Administrator Settings.

       
    • Once you are done with the template or with the steps to use Microsoft Entra Connect, select the blue Next button.

     

  3. Done, your new users are now imported into NEXT and should appear in the Users list.

Export the Users table

You can export the full list of users on your account as a CSV file. This is useful for performing bulk updates, auditing user configurations, or sharing user information outside of NEXT.

To export the Users table:

  1. Navigate to Administration.

  2. Select Users.

  3. In the upper right corner of the Users page, select the download icon.

  4. The CSV file downloads automatically to your device.

The exported file includes key user details such as name, email, role, assigned phone numbers, shared inboxes, and skills.

Edit A User

  1. In Administrator Settings, select Users.

  2. Find the user you want to update. You can use the Search field to narrow the list.

  3. Select the More options icon (three dots) for that user, then select Edit user.

The Edit user screen includes multiple sections in the left navigation. Select each section to review or update the user’s configuration. Select Save to apply changes when the Save button is available.

 

Click here for more information about managing user settings and features.

     


    Ai Employees

    Create and view your AI Employees. These are virtual agents that can interact with customers through text or voice, simulating a human agent.

    AI Employees are managed through CX Studio, and clicking on AI employees will redirect you to that tool.  Click here for more information.

    Roles & Permissions

    Roles & Permissions define what each user can see and do in the NEXT platform. The system provides a set of default roles (Agent, Supervisor, and Administrator) each tailored for specific responsibilities and access levels. This ensures a secure, role-based access control system and helps streamline workflows within the contact center.

    1. After accessing the Administrator Settings area, select the Roles & permissions button in the left hand navigation bar.

     

    1. From here, you can view the Agent, Supervisor, and Administrator roles. Select View permissions for whichever role you would like to look at.

           

    Role

    Description 

    Agent

    Designed for frontline support users who manage customer interactions across multiple channels.

    Supervisor

    Intended for team leads with oversight over tickets, dashboards, and shared inboxes. Includes limited NEXT Admin access.

    Administrator

    A full-access role for system administrators managing configurations, users, integrations, and all admin capabilities.

         

    1. In the new window, you will see a screen that you can scroll through to see what authority and access each role (Agent, Supervisor, Administrator) has. Select Done or the X to close the window.

     

    Skills

    Skills management is an area used to create new skills for your company. These skills can be applied to a user within the Skills section of each Agent or Supervisor’s profile. Think of a skill as a talent or notable area of expertise that employees at your company might have.

    Examples of skills: SQL, French language, Mobile developer, Top 5 sales performer, data analysis, etc.

    1. After accessing the Administrator Settings area, Select the Skills button in the left hand navigation bar.

     

    1. From here, you can add a skill or edit an existing one.

    Add A New Skill

    1. Select the Add skill button in the upper right corner of the Skills management page.

       
    2. In the new window, type in the name of the skill and a description.

       
    3. Select Save. Done, you will now see the skill appear in the Skills management list.

    Edit or Delete An Existing Skill

    1. Search for a skill using the search bar. Find the one you want to edit or delete, and select the ellipses menu.

       

       

    2. Select Edit skill or Delete skill from the dropdown.

       
      • Editing: If you are editing the skill, you can edit the skill’s name and description before selecting Save.

         

         

      • Deleting: Selecting Delete will allow you to permanently delete the skill. A window will appear to make sure you want to delete it. Select the red Delete button to proceed.

         

         

     

    Still need help with this?
    Contact support